Skip to content

An Alternative to Medicine and other Home Remedies

February 28, 2011

Here is a topic that is near and dear to my heart.  I have this strong desire to learn all I can about herbs and natural ways of healing rather than pumping myself and my family full of medicines of which we cannot even pronounce.  I feel the children of America are grossly over-diagnosed and over-medicated.  As we leave winter and enter into spring, I have started researching herbal remedies for our common aliments.  Here is what I found.

Chiropractors are incredible.  There are so many articles that can be found that support the work of a chiropractor.  Even though I work for one, I am stating this as a consumer.  Look at this webpage for a breakdown in the difference in benefits between chiropractic care and medicine.  There is even a study that concluded that as many as four out of ten cases of wheezing and severe asthma in teens may be linked to Tylenol.  It’s sort of scary to think that we are giving children (and ourselves) medicine that might have a lasting impact on our health.  Here’s a quote from a man we all would deem smart, Thomas Edison: “The doctor of the future will give no medicine, but will interest her or his patients in the care of the human frame, in proper diet, and in the cause and prevention of disease.”

A blog post found on mommypotamus.com caught my eye this week.  It was a guest post by Katja Swift.  I love that there are herbal remedies for the common colds and flus.  It makes me feel better knowing that there are other options I can try first before needing to go to the doctor to get an antibiotic or steroid.

In the above mention blog post, Ms. Swift mentions that are is an organic solution that one can use to sterilize your home instead of using the common bleach to disinfect.  This got me thinking about what other “at home” remedies we have in the cleaning department.  One article I found talked about using baking soda, vinegar, and lemon juice as cleaning agents.  I must say, my grandmother has always told me to use vinegar for laundry and baking soda for cleaning those hard to reach stains (i.e. coffee makers).  I always knew she was smart!  This article explains what we have in our home that can be used as cleaners and what each thing is used for.  It also goes into what to mix with what and the ratios for each solution.  For those of us who want to clean our house in an environmentally friendly way, this is a website that we should all bookmark.  It has everything one would need to know on how to clean our house without the harmful effects and deadly chemicals.

I hope you have enjoyed looking through these articles as much as I have.  I will continue to post the information I find as I search for alternative ways to a healthy lifestyle.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 1:42 pm

    I didn’t realize you worked for a chiropractor, Symantha! One day in my first trimester of pregnancy with Katie my hips went wonky and I was in SO. MUCH. PAIN. My mom recommended I go see this new chiro she had just started seeing, so I did. I’d been to chiro’s before, but this was different. I’ve been a patient ever since! In fact, I went so often my chiro asked me to lunch and we began a great friendship, lol!

    • March 6, 2011 2:27 pm

      Yes, I am very blessed to work for a Chiropractor. I had no idea what a chiropractor did other than “cracking” your back before I started working for one (not the same one I work for now). It is amazing the way God designed our bodies. To think after having years of daily headaches, 3 months of chiropractic adjustments and I am headache free! Who would have ever thought that a “simple” adjustment could do so much?! Chiropractors definitely do not get the credit that they deserve. I wish more people knew about the benefits of chiropractic in its ability to offer non-invasive, non-medicine help to just about every ailment.

  2. March 7, 2011 1:36 am

    So true! BTW I just plagarized my own comment for tomorrow’s blog post intro. It’s been a long weekend.

Leave a Reply

