Skip to content

An Old Wive’s Tale

March 6, 2011

This past Monday, I walked into the office and started getting ready for the day.  Dr. Whittington, my boss, came in and asked if I had heard about what the weather was supposed to be like for that day.  Not having television, I don’t often check the weather, so I said “no”.  We were supposed to get a terrible storm that afternoon.  Dr. Whittington informed me of an old wive’s tale that I hadn’t heard of before.  He said that the tale goes “if it thunders or lightens during a winter storm, there will be snow in the next two weeks.”  We both laughed it off as it has been in the 60s and 70s here in Asheville the last few weeks.

Well, I think there might be something to that logic.  Here is what I am looking at right now:

I know the picture isn’t too clear with how huge these snowflakes are.  They are the biggest snowflakes I have ever seen!  Granted, none of them are sticking, but I love the way it looks with snow falling outside.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

